Day 5 – Ayutthaya

Today we take the train to Ayutthaya, the old capital city.   I really love riding the train.

The ride to Ayutthaya  cost 50 cents. It should have taken about 45 minutes, but we sat stopped at the “Bang Sue” train station for at least a half an hour.  So I practiced my Thai, intimating the announcer calling over the loud speaker “BANg SUUUU”.   (The Thai language is fascinating, a lot of tones- up inflections and down.  I don’t think I will ever learn it, although I find it oh so interesting)

Notes from the ride: I find it interesting that I am sharing the seat with someone, she is taking up about 36″ of the bench and I am sitting on about 6″.  She is not any larger than I am, yet somehow she is muscling me out of the bench.   I put my bag in between us and reclaim my rightful 21 inches.  We ride nicely together the rest of the way.

There is no glass in the windows, brown wooden shutters, but other than that open to the outside world.

There is a little girl, about 3, riding with her parents. She also reminds me a lot of my son; Wallowing in the seat, trying to get her parents to play with her, looking out the window (leaning a little too far out at times), looking to her mother for approval and burying her face in her mothers lap when shyness hits and of course unable to sit still. My Auntie pulls out the iPad and like my son, the little girl loves to push the buttons.

There is someone who walks up and down the aisle selling snacks.  I bought bag of green floss/grass looking stuff. and it came with crepes (also green).  The flavoring is “Pandan”.  I cannot compare Pandan to anything else, I cannot think of anything it is similar to it.  I know that it’s a type of leaf and pretty popular in Vietnam, Malaysia and Thailand.  (If you go to an true Asian bakery they should have it.)   *While looking up Pandan, because I couldn’t remember what it was called, I found a recipe for Pandan Chiffon Cake. I’ll be making this soon – http://www.vietworldkitchen.com/blog/2011/06/pandan-chiffon-cake-recipe.html

I may have lost my way with this post.. .

After are train ride we make our way to the hotel (which is more of a B&B).  The proprietor has bikes for us to ride and we ride over to the old town center and to a reclining Buddha.  The sun is setting while we are at the Buddha and some people come and wrap him in cloth.  I am wondering if we happen to be there on a special evening or if they do this every night.  (I feel a little sad, because I don’t see rituals like this in the states.)

P1030175 P1030176 P1030178 P1030179 P1030182 P1030183   P1030193 P1030194 P1030197 P1030198 P1030199 P1030200 P1030201 P1030202 P1030203

Leave a Reply

